While the nation waits with bated breath to see who will be named our next Commander in Chief, our local election winners prepare to take on new roles as their official terms of office are just around the corner. 

With record numbers coming out to cast their ballots, the Rusk County Elections office reported more than 66% voter turnout, which is nearly double the number of voters who showed up for the Primary elections or their subsequent run-offs. 

In federal and state races immediately affecting Rusk County, US Senator John Cornyn came out ahead of Mary ‘MJ’ Hegar, while Louie Gohmert took the race against Hank Gilbert. 

Incumbent District 1 State Senator Bryan Hughes swept the polls, leaving opponent Audrey Spanko a meager 24.69% of the State’s vote. “I am very thankful for the election results up and down the ballot here in Texas,” said Hughes. “I am even more thankful for all the East Texans who have put their trust in me to represent them in the Texas Senate. This is a great privilege. I am humbled by the support and honored to serve a second term.”

In a similar race, District 11 State Representative incumbent Travis Clardy received more than 75% of District votes. 

Texas’ new Railroad Commissioner is James ‘Jim’ Wright, who took more than 53% at the polls. 

In local races, Tatum residents are set to welcome their new Mayor, Clay Lassen, while Overton City Council is excited for their freshly elected members, Josh Hill in Place 1 and Lane Schurbon in Place 3. 

In reaction to his contested win in the Constable Precinct 4 race, Laneville’s Bobby Jo Armstrong said, “I am thankful to God for making this all possible. I thank each and everyone for their votes, prayers, and support. A big thank you to my family for hanging in there with me through it all, along with my Fire Department Family, and my church family, who has stood behind me all the way. I look forward to serving not only Pct.4 but Rusk County.” 

“I am grateful for the overwhelming support I received and look forward to preparing for the job,” said Precinct 5 Constable elect Trey Hacker, who walked away with more than 96% of the vote. 

The Rusk County Countywide School Board looks forward to their new leadership as Henderson resident Dwain Knight prepares to take over in his retiring father-in-law’s stead as Trustee, At-Large. 

Leveretts Chapel School Board is ready to work their three newest members as Chris Dean, James ‘JR’ Rogers, and Robbie Waller took the majority votes winning the three available At-Large positions. 

Thank you for reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.